2012 Van Vogt Award Nominees

I was not aware that there was an award named after the man who invented the fix-up, but Locus says that one exists, and has been sponsored by three parties: Winnipeg Science Fiction Association; Conadian, the 1994 Worldcon; and Science Fiction Winnipeg. [1] I presume, though the Locus announcement doesn't say, that it's for SFF novels by Canadian authors -- it could be a somewhat different set of criteria (some connection to Winnipeg, for example).

The nominees for the 2012 award are:

  • Alphanauts, Brian J. Clarke (Edge)
  • The Other, Matthew Hughes (Underland)
  • Lady of Mazes, Karl Schroeder (Tor)
Congratulations to the nominees, and a winner will presumably be announced in the fullness of time.

[1] It's a bit odd to see a twenty-year-old Worldcon still running around organizing things, but I suppose that's hard to get out of your blood.